The Record Store

Sola Gratia – Neal Morse


Image Variation Price Description Quantity Add To Cart
Gatefold Black 2 LP + CD $39.99 Sola Gratia Gatefold Black 2 LP + CD. Signed by Neal Morse!
Add to cart
Standard CD Jewel Case $14.99 Sola Gratia Standard CD Jewel Case
Add to cart


Neal Morse is pleased to announce the release of Sola Gratia, a solo progressive rock concept album. Originating from a seed planted in his mind about writing a record based on the apostle Paul, Sola Gratia quickly came together at the beginning of 2020. The album sees Neal working with long-time collaborators Mike Portnoy, Randy George, Eric Gillette, Bill Hubauer, and Gideon Klein.

The title Sola Gratia of course has echoes of Morse’s 2007 epic Sola Scriptura, about the life of Martin Luther, but was in fact originally the result of a simple marital misunderstanding: “I was talking to my wife Cherie about debuting this new piece at Morsefest 2020 and she said she thought it would be good for me to do a solo album. However, I thought she said ‘Sola album’ and – because some of the new ideas involved Paul’s aggressive pursuit of the early Christians, I could see a link to some of the themes of persecution in ‘Sola Scriptura.’”

The music was recorded ‘virtually’ in April 2020 at the height of the Coronavirus lockdown with long term collaborators Mike Portnoy and Randy George: “It’s the first album we have ever made remotely: I sent them the basic tracks and asked if they wanted to rearrange things, but they just said ‘No, it’s great!’, so they just played to it and sent their parts back over. It wasn’t an easy way to make an album, but creating always has its challenges, no matter how you do it.”

As Morse explains, it was this process that decided that Sola Gratia was to be a Neal Morse album, rather than being credited to The Neal Morse Band: “With the Neal Morse Band, the whole band works together on the writing, and while Eric Gillette plays some guitar and Bill Hubauer has added some keyboards on this one, neither of them wrote – or is singing – on this album.

Sola Gratia is available as a limited CD/DVD Digipak (featuring a ‘Making-Of’ documentary), Gatefold Transparent Sun Yellow 2LP + CD, Gatefold Black 2LP + CD, and Standard CD Jewel Case. The cover art was created by another longtime collaborator, Thomas Ewerhard.


Track Listing:

1. Preface

2. Overture

3. In The Name Of The Lord

4. Ballyhoo (The Chosen Ones)

5. March Of The Pharisees

6. Building A Wall

7. Sola Intermezzo

8. Overflow

9. Warmer Than The Sunshine

10. Never Change

11. Seemingly Sincere

12. The Light On The Road To Damascus

13. The Glory Of The Lord

14. Now I Can See/The Great Commission

Additional information

Weight N/A

, , ,

Copyright © 2021 Radiant Records. All rights reserved.